Microsoft now forcing some users to upgrade to Windows 10.

Windows10ForcedUpgrade
Last week I had three customers in a row call to ask why their T-RIP didn’t work and all three then told me that they came into work and got a “welcome to Windows 10” greeting when they booted their computer. They all said they never authorized the update and did not click on anything. It just happened. 

This problem has been documented on the internet and it is really a crime that Microsoft is so heavy handed. The real problem is that a lot of software is not Windows 10 compatible. I have a new version of T-RIP called T-RIP 2.0 that is Windows 10 compatible but my older T-RIP 1.0 and 1.2 is not. 

You can prevent this from happening by making sure the “Recommended Update” setting is unchecked on your PC. If you fail to do this and accidentally allow the installation to go ahead (or maybe you tried Windows 10 and didn’t like it), it’s easy to roll things back to your original operating system.

Once the installation has completed you have 30 days to change your mind and go back to Windows 7 or 8.1.

All you need to do is click Start and launch Settings. Go to Update and Security and click Recovery on the left. You’ll see the option to Go back to Windows 7 or Go back to Windows 8.1 (depending on which version of Windows you had before). Click on Get Started and follow the instructions.

Share

Related posts

Top